Presence in the Present: Vernal Equinox

Happy Spring! This year we are treated to a rare trifecta of astronomical phenomena today: the vernal equinox, a total solar eclipse, and a supermoon! The night and the day are roughly equal, and the Northern Hemisphere prepares for the growing season.Ceanothus

As the East Coast gets pummeled with more winter weather, spring has sprung early here in northern California, thanks to climate change and our long drought. The garden volunteers are some of my favorites: grape hyacinth, forget-me-nots – I have always loved the blues. Ceanothus threatens to outshine the color of the sky, alive with the sonorous buzz of honeybees, bumblebees, and other pollinators. A wonderful recent article highlights the importance to plant for wildlife: bees, butterflies, ladybugs, and birds.

Our winter garden bestowed us with salads by such good fortune. Outside harvesting radish or arugula, or pulling weeds, I hear the scratch of the neighbors’ metal rake. I am fully in the moment, yet at the same time aware that at some point, many years from now, someone else will be tending the yard. Or maybe it will become an entirely different place. Strange, the concept of owning land, when we are just borrowing it for a brief moment in time!

What are some of your favorite equinox traditions?

Radish

 

About thislittleplot

Writer, hiker, loafer
This entry was posted in Birds, Garden, Nature, Seasons, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Presence in the Present: Vernal Equinox

  1. Beautiful post. Such an amazing day!

  2. owlwoman says:

    Much better put than I could muster – I found the eclipse incredibly emotional and wasn’t capable of stringing a sentence together!

  3. utherben says:

    Happy Spring, my friend; yesterday’s snow has already melted here in NYC, and this year’s flower seeds have been ordered. Among them are nasturtium (edible, & therefore practical), Lunaria (for money spells) and huge red geraniums. Once it gets a bit warmer I’ll figure out This Year’s Veg™ and order accordingly.

    • Nasturtium has always been a favorite; my mom had it when I was a kid, and we had it in SF and ate it frequently. Haven’t had it here, but hope to again. We also have geraniums, they grow like beasts and we love them! Happy Equinox!

  4. Chris Stevens says:

    Always love your seasonal posts! Daffodils are blooming here, roses putting out new leaves, allergies bothering me, must be spring!

    Date: Fri, 20 Mar 2015 19:07:07 +0000 To: docketrocket@hotmail.com

  5. Shonna says:

    Blessed Spring. We’ve been in Washington state for one year now. White Camellias in full bloom as our lilac trees push out buds, glad to get the pruning done. My spring tradition is to get my culinary herbs going and to cast circle, bless the wild animals and concentrate on personal growth. First time in my life yesterday, on the Equinox, I saw Orca!! About a a 1/2 mile away, one huge splash and then several white mists from their blowholes as they were feeding! It was a gift and I am grateful.

    • Oh my goodness, that sounds amazing! I’ve never seen one in person before. How great that you saw it on the Equinox, thanks for sending your lovely tradition; I’ll have to try that too. Still enjoying your thyme, sage, etc. Abutilon is blooming!

Leave a Reply

