Samhain and Day of the Dead

Somehow, it’s that time again – the spiders in their season, spotted orb-weavers spinning their webs. Samhain – also known as Hallowe’en – is the pagan New Year, the time when the veil between the worlds is thinnest, and the living are visited by and can commune with the spirits of the dead, of those we have lost.  It also marks the stirring of new beginnings. Day of the Dead, the Mexican Dia de los Muertes, which falls just after Samhain, celebrates that time most vividly, with families and friends spending long hours at altars and the gravesites of loved ones. Emily Dickinson wrote:

“Because I could not stop for Death –

He kindly stopped for me –

The carriage held but just ourselves –

And immortality.”

Time, also, to say goodbye to my mother, who just passed away at age 85.  I miss her, more than I thought possible. Nobody could love anybody more. Besides my dad, it was she who shared her passion for nature with me. I think of her every time I go into the garden, water the plants, dig in the earth; and I long for that moment when – even if fleeting – my beloved mother can return to me.

And now, B. and I are moving. I hate change, but we’ve known we’d have to relocate for awhile now, and the time has come. Goodbye to our wonderful old home, goodbye to the old office room, the old view – goodbye to the the old garden. Here’s to new starts, in our new home, and a new life. Happy Hallowe’en!

About thislittleplot

Writer, hiker, loafer
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Garden, Literature, Nature, Poetry, Seasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Samhain and Day of the Dead

  1. Utherben says:

    Condolences on your Mum; it’s never easy to lose close family. And moving house while grieving seems like such a double whammy; yet it’s those powerful, deep changes that forge us into what we are to become. May your & B’s move be safe and as stress-free as possible.

  2. Utherben says:

    And, needless to say (but I will anyway): Happy New Year, my friend. 2013 has got to be an improvement!

  3. tara linda says:

    Love this post and poem, and reminders of Fall-season of Changes- moving all around us. I’m so sorry about your Mum. I hope you can set up even a small Dia de Los Muertos alter- for all hearts… Will post about small alters next. Wishing you a peaceful, painless relocation to your new, next awesome sanctuary. xo.

  4. Chris Stevens says:

    Beautifully said. It all gets better from here.

Leave a Reply

