Mother’s Day

How is it already Mother’s Day? It’s already been over a year since I started writing This Little Plot, and I’ve enjoyed it more than I can express. As someone who all too easily gets caught up in worrying about the future, I appreciate so much anything that forces me to slow down, to focus on place, on the present moment.

I’ll be spending the day with my mother, who’s getting more frail all the time. She just suffered a bad fall and broke her hip, one of the more serious injuries for older people, and one of my worst fears. As bones become brittle with age, and loss of eyesight and balance make walking more precarious, falls become more of a risk through the years. If a senior breaks a bone and becomes bedridden, it’s not hard to become depressed, to lose the will to walk again, even to live. But despite all the challenges of her schizophrenia and dementia (at first she refused hospitalization, then surgery, even pain medication), my mom’s recuperating after her hip operation, and is walking a little more every day with the aid of a walker and nurses. Her strength and perseverance floor me.

She’s passed on so much of her knowledge and love of the wild and of gardens, of beast and flower alike. What little I know began as the germ of a seed inside my head, slowly taking root through years of rebellion and my move from the town where I grew up to a big city, and now has flowered and fully blossomed into my own passion for nature. Mother, I’m so grateful for all you’ve given me, and as I write this I think of you.

Reminder: May is Mental Health month, and all of us know someone either directly or indirectly who suffers from mental illness. NAMI does tremendous work in advocacy, education, and sharing resource information. Check out its websites – regional and national – if you or someone you know needs help. Happy Mother’s Day to moms everywhere!

About thislittleplot

Writer, hiker, loafer
This entry was posted in Family, Literature, Mental Health, Nature, Seasons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mother’s Day

  1. MaryAnn says:

    you are such a loving daughter. your writing about your mother is so humble and caring. thanks.

  2. Shonna says:

    Thank you for sharing your writing for the last year. I’ve enjoyed reading each piece. My thoughts are with you and your Mom as she recovers from her fall. Peace.

  3. Jessie says:

    Beautiful post! I am so sorry about your mother’s fall. I hope her recovery is as smooth as possible. Thank you so much for all your wonderful posts!

Leave a Reply

